Books at Young Law Library
To search for books at U of A libraries, go to the online catalog, Infolinks, at http://library.uark.edu. Some books on Islamic law at Young Law Library are listed below. Mullins Library also has books on Islamic law. Books on this topic tend to have a call number beginning with BP or KBP.
Find Articles on Islamic Law
Some links below are to free websites, while others are to U of A databases. For articles at U of A, check Infolinks at http://library.uark.edu/ to see if current journal issues are available in print. It is not unusual for journal publishers to require that articles don't appear in databases until 12 months after the print issues are published.
- Al Tamimi & Co.Al Tamimi is a law firm with offices througout the Middle East. Its publications here are free and in English.
- Arab Law Quarterly1985-2004
- HeinOnlineContains the Law Journal Library, which has articles in PDF going back further than Westlaw or LexisNexis.
- International and Comparative Law Quarterly1952-2007. Also links to Journal of Comparative Legislation and International Law and The International Law Quarterly.
- Islamic Law and Society (EBSCO database)1999-current. 12-month full-text delay, abstract available
- Islamic Law and Society (JSTOR database)1994-2004
- Islamic Legal Studies Program, Harvard Law SchoolLinks to articles and other publications available under the Publications and Research tabs.
- Journal of African Law1957-2004
- Journal of Islamic Studies (ProQuest database)2001-2009 (365-day delay from initial publication)
- Karamah: Muslim Women Lawyers for Human Rights
- Univ. of Arkansas Libraries list of databases on Middle East and Islamic Studies
Introduction
The foundations of Islamic law (Sharia) are:
- The Koran (the word of God as told to the Phophet Mohammed)
- The Sunnah (Mohammed's standard practices)
- The Hadith (a narration of Mohammed's sayings, actions, and attributes)
Islamic jurisprudence based on Sharia is called fiqh. There are four major Sunni schools of fiqh: Maliki, Hanafi, Shaf'i, and Hanbali. Jafari is the major Shiite school. Many countries with large Muslim populations have legal systems influenced by one or more of the fiqhs.
Background Information--Online Sources
- Law and JusticeBy Joseph Schacht, from Chapter 4 of the Cambridge Encyclopaedia of Islam.
- GlobaLex, Religious Legal SystemsGlobaLex is produced by NYU School of Law. It publishes research guides on foreign, comparative, and international law.
- Workshop on Islamic Law, Presentation MaterialsFrom a 2004 workshop co-sponsored by AALS, American Society of Comparative law, and The Law and Society Association. Covers the sources, characteristics, and system of Islamic law, plus an application of the law to areas including women’s rights, land recovery, family law, legislation, criminal law, contract law, finance, conflict resolution, international and humanitarian law, legal reasoning, Islamic law in Muslim-majority and non-majority countries, and constitutionalism.
- The Sunnah: Practice and Law (Shari'ah)From the University of Georgia. Includes the basics of the four major schools of jurisprudence (a.k.a. fiqh). Also links to articles on Islamic religious practice and scholarship.
- Islam: A PrimerA report by the Congressional Research Service, of the Library of Congress
- Islamic Law linksWeb archive of information provided by MSA West, an organization of West Coast Muslim Student Associations. This was once at the University of Southern California, which now has information at the Center for Muslim-Jewish Engagement: http://www.usc.edu/schools/college/crcc/engagement/resources/texts/
- Huquq.com: Islamic Law & Society ArchivesPublished by a professor at the University of Iowa
Texts
- The KoranFrom the University of Michigan. This site is commonly used by fiqh scholars. Browse by chapter or do a simple, proximity, or boolean search.
- Hadith
- Commentaries on the Koran (Tafsirs)Includes major and minor fiqhs, with functions to compare them. When using this, bear in mind that "sura" means chapter.
Research
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)This link goes to databases on Islamic countries.
- GlobaLexThe foreign law research link lists guides by country.
- Finding the Law: Islamic Law (Sharia)Includes background information, historical issues, and treatment of Islamic law in Western courts.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...
Loading...
